Le monde du silence


April 26, 2012  by the CCM Philharmonia Orchestra at the University of Cincinnati in Cincinnati, OH. Mark Gibson, conductor.



Piccolo, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, English Horn, 3 B-flat Clarinets (2nd doubles Bass Clarinet, 3rd doubles E-flat Clarinet), 2 Bassoons, Contrabassoon, 4 Horns in F, 3 B-flat Trumpets, 3 Trombones, Tuba, Timpani, 3 Percussion*, Harp, Piano (doubling celesta), Narrator, Strings.


*Glockenspiel, Crotales, Suspended Cymbal, Vibraphone, Tam-tam, Bass drum

DURATION: 15 minutes​


Le monde du silence is a contemporary symphonic poem (in four movements) for orchestra written specifically for the 2012 CCM Philharmonia orchestra with Mark Gibson, conductor, and Ron Esposito, narrator.

The title is taken from The Silent World (Le monde du silence), a 1956 documentary film co-directed by oceanographer Jacques-Yves Cousteau and Louis Malle. It is noted as one of the first films to use underwater cinematography.

  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • SoundCloud - Black Circle
  • Spotify - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle

© Copyright 2020 by Jennifer Jolley