PRIMAVERA II the rabbits is the second of six albums in a momentous series encompassing 81 world premieres for solo cello. This digital album presents 13 new commissions by THE PRIMAVERA PROJECT for groundbreaking, multi-GRAMMY nominated cellist Matt Haimovitz. Each composer responds to Sandro Botticelli’s enigmatic painting, Primavera, and the prophetic large-scale triptych, Primavera 2020, by world-renowned contemporary artist Charline von Heyl. The album also features Haimovitz’s new arrangement of Josquin de Prez’s Kyrie (from Missa Hercules Dux Ferrariae).

Track List

  1. Kyrie (from Missa Hercules Dux Ferrariae), Josquin des Prez (arr. Matt Haimovitz) (2:36)
  2. Beyond the Order of Things (After Josquin), Missy Mazzoli (4:32)
  3. Cyclical Rabbits, Niloufar Nourbakhsh (6:12)
  4. Volplaning, Tomeka Reid (5:28)
  5. Spring Figures, Nico Muhly (4:56)
  6. Two Rhapsodies of Spring, Juri Seo (7:25)
  7. Spring Song, Gordon Getty (1:56)
  8. Theme and Variants, David Balakrishnan (3:39)
  9. 1 3 2 3, Sky Macklay (5:26)
  10. Afro-dite, Nia Imani Franklin (6:04)
  11. Compulsive Bloom, Jennifer Jolley (4:25)
  12. Sandro/Charline:Both, Alex Weston (7:20)
  13. A negative space, Nina Shekhar (5:13)
  14. Beseeching, Texu Kim (4:40)